

# **Board Organizational Meeting**

Monday, December 2, 2019 Following Nomination Meeting Board Room, Education Centre

## **AGENDA**

A – 1		Opening <ul> <li>(a) Call to Order: Director of Education</li> <li>(b) Roll Call/Welcome/Land Acknowledgement Statement</li> </ul>	
B – 1	*	Report from Nomination Meeting <ul><li>(a) Nominations from the Floor</li><li>(b) 2020 Board Nominations Meeting Report</li></ul>	B. Blancher B. Blancher
C – 1		Presentation to 2019 Board Chair Note: Chair assumed by 2020 Board Chair	
D – 1	*	Appointment of 2020 Striking Committee	Chair
E – 1		In Camera Session	
E – 2		In Camera Report	
F – 1		Adjournment	



## **GRAND ERIE DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD**

TO: Trustees of the Grand District School Board

FROM: Brenda Blancher, Director of Education & Secretary

RE: 2020 Board Nominations Meeting Report

DATE: December 2, 2019

Recommended Action: Moved by Seconded				
THAT the Grand Erie District School Board approve the slate of officers as presented in the Board				
Nomination Meeting:				
Chair of the Board	Greg Anderson			
Vice Chair of the Board	Rita Collver			
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Susan Gibson			
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Carol Ann Sloat			
OPSBA Director/ Voting Delegate	Don Werden			
OPSBA Alternate Director / Alternate Voting Delegate	Rita Collver			

#### **Background**

In accordance with By-Law 3 elections for the slate of officers occurs at the Board Nomination Meeting and is presented to trustees at the Organizational meeting for approval. This report complies with such requirement.

Respectfully submitted,

Brenda Blancher Director of Education & Secretary



### **GRAND ERIE DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD**

TO: Trustees of the Grand District School Board

FROM: Brenda Blancher, Director of Education & Secretary

RE: Appointment of 2020 Striking Committee

DATE: December 2, 2019

**Recommended Action:** Moved by \_\_\_\_\_\_ Seconded by

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board appoint the following individuals to the 2020 Striking

Committee:

Board Chair Greg Anderson Board Vice Chair Rita Collver

Trustee James Richardson

Trustee David Dean
Trustee Susan Gibson
Trustee Don Werden

#### **Background**

In accordance with 5(b) of By-Law 3, the Striking Committee is struck to consider trustee representation on statutory and ad hoc committees. This report complies with the requirement.

Respectfully submitted,

Brenda Blancher Director of Education & Secretary



## **BYLAW 3**

# **Annual Organization Meeting**

#### 5. The Striking Committee

- a) Immediately following the elections, the Board Chair shall nominate a Striking Committee.
- b) The Striking Committee shall consist of the Board Chair, the Vice-Chair and four trustees. Within the four-year term, each trustee, no matter their capacity, shall serve at least once on the Striking Committee.
- c) Each year trustees shall be nominated by the Chair, determined by lot, to serve on the Striking Committee.
- d) The Board Chair shall automatically be Chair of the Striking Committee.
- e) The Striking Committee shall meet immediately following adjournment of the organizational meeting to nominate representation on the standing, ad hoc and/or special committees and to consider the appointment of Board representatives to such other organizations who extend to the Board the privilege of appointing one or more representatives.
- f) The Striking Committee shall present its report at the Inaugural Meeting of the Board.
- g) The Striking Committee will serve for a year, at the call of the Chair.

#### **Striking Committee**

2020
Board Chair – Greg Anderson
Board Vice-Chair – Rita Collver
James Richardson
David Dean
Susan Gibson
Don Werden