AND DISTRICT SCHOOL PROPERTY OF THE PARTY OF

Board Organizational Meeting

December 4, 2017 Education Centre, Board Room

MINUTES

Present: G. Anderson, R. Collver, D. Dean, B. Doyle, A. Felsky, J. Harris, J. Richardson, K. Sandy,

C.A. Sloat, D. Sowers, T. Waldschmidt,

Administration: Director - B. Blancher; Superintendents - D. Abbey, W. Baker, L. De Vos, D.

Martins, S. Sincerbox, R. Wyszynski; Recording Secretary – L. Howells

Regrets:

Trustees: J. Hsiao (Student Trustee), L. Kelly (Student Trustee)

Administration: L. Thompson

A - 1 Opening

(a) Roll Call / Welcome

The meeting was called to order by Director of Education and Secretary of the Board, B. Blancher, at 7:01 p.m.

B – 1 Report from Nomination Meeting

(a) Nominations from the Floor

A further call for nominations from the floor was made by B. Blancher.

(b) 2018 Nominating Committee Report and Nominations from the Floor

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: B. Doyle

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board approve the slate of officers as presented in the

Board Nomination Meeting.

Carried

The following slate of offices for 2018 was confirmed.

Chair of the Board	Greg Anderson
Vice Chair of the Board	Tom Waldschmidt
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Diane Sowers
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Alex Felsky
OPSBA Director/ Voting Delegate	Carol Ann Sloat
OPSBA Alternate Director / Alternate Voting Delegate	Rita Collver



Board Organizational Meeting

December 4, 2017 Education Centre, Board Room

C – 1 Presentation to 2017 Board Chair

On behalf of the Board, B. Blancher presented D. Dean with a gift of appreciation for his work as Board Chair in 2017.

G. Anderson, 2018 Board Chair, assumed the Chair.

The Chair thanked and congratulated everyone and looks forward to next year.

D-1 Appointment of Striking Committee

As per Bylaw 3 "Annual Organizational Meeting", the Striking Committee is comprised of the Board Chair, Board Vice-Chair and four other trustees. The names were drawn by lot.

Moved by: D. Sowers

Seconded by: T. Waldschmidt

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board appoint the following individuals to the Striking Committee:

Board Chair – Greg Anderson	
Board Vice-Chair – Tom Waldschmidt	
James Richardson	
Diane Sowers	
Brian Doyle	
Alex Felsky	

Carried

E – 1 In Camera Session

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: D. Sowers

THAT the Board move into In Camera Session to discuss legal and personnel matters at 7:10

p.m.

Carried



Board Organizational Meeting

December 4, 2017 Education Centre, Board Room

E – 2 In Camera Report

Moved by: A. Felsky

Seconded by: T. Waldschmidt

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board approve item C-1-a.

Carried

H-1 Adjournment

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: D. Sowers

THAT the meeting be adjourned at 7:28 p.m.

Carried

Board Chair, Greg Anderson

Page 3 of 3