

# Board Organizational Meeting December 3, 2012, 6:47 p.m.

PRESENT: Trustees:	J. Angus, R. Collver, D. Dean, B. Doyle, A. Everets, B. Johnston, C. Lefebvre, M. Macdonald, C.A. Sloat, D. Werden, David Fleet (Student Trustee)
Administration:	Director — J. Forbeck; Superintendents — G. Anderson, W. Baker, B. Blancher, J. Gunn, M. McDonald, A. Nesbitt; Recording Secretary — D. Fletcher
REGRETS: Trustees: Administration:	E. Dixon, Laramie Bradovka (Student Trustee) Nil.

## A – 1 **Opening**

## (a) **Roll Call/Welcome**

The meeting was called to order by Director of Education and Secretary of the Board, J. Forbeck, at 6:47 p.m.

# **B** – 1 **Report from Nomination Meeting**

## (a) **2013 Nominating Committee Report**

Moved by: D. Werden Seconded by: C.A. Sloat THAT the Grand Erie District School Board approve the slate of officers as presented in the Board Nomination Meeting. **Carried** 

### (b) **Nominations from the Floor**

A further call for nominations from the floor was made by J. Forbeck.

There were no further nominations.

Page 2

The following slate of officers for 2013 was confirmed.

Chair of the Board	R. Collver
Vice Chair of the Board	D. Dean
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 2	C.A. Sloat
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 1	D. Werden
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 2	M. Macdonald
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 1	J. Angus
OPSBA Director/Voting Delegate	D. Werden
OPSBA Alternative Director/Alternate Voting Delegate	C.A. Sloat

R. Collver 2013 Board Chair, assumed the Chair.

### C-1 Presentation to 2012 Board Chair

On behalf of the Board, J. Forbeck presented R. Collver with a gift in appreciation for her work as Board Chair in 2012. J. Forbeck thanked her for being a positive face and voice for the Grand Erie District School Board. Her passion for poverty, achievement, special education and putting students first is apparent and appreciated. Her commitment to parent engagement was highlighted this year by visiting 25 school council meetings.

R. Collver thanked the Director and recognized his support this year. S. McKillop was acknowledged for his support with communications.

### **D**-1 Appointment of 2013 Striking Committee

Bylaw 3 states that the Striking Committee is comprised of the Board Chair, Board Vice Chair and four other trustees.

Since C. Lefebvre had not served in the last two years, Bylaw 3 Annual Organizational Meeting states that she must serve this year. The remainder of the others will be drawn.

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: J. Angus THAT the Grand Erie District School Board appoint the following individuals to the Striking Committee: Board Chair — R. Collver Board Vice Chair — D. Dean C. Lefebvre M. Macdonald C.A. Sloat D. Werden **Carried** 

### **E** – 1 **Review of Borrowing Bylaws Not on Board's Review Schedule**

Moved by: B. Johnston Seconded by: D. Werden THAT the Grand Erie District School Board receive the Review of Borrowing Bylaws Not on Board's Review Schedule report as information. **Carried** 

- F 1 **In Camera Session** Nil.
- F 2 **In Camera Report** Nil.
- G-1 Adjournment

Moved by: J. Angus Seconded by: M. Macdonald THAT the meeting be adjourned at 6:58 p.m. **Carried** 

Board Chair, R. Collver